030593 Private International Law with case law analysis

2 hour(s), 3 ECTS

Language of Instruction: English

Limited Number of Participants: 40

 

Lecturer(s):

o.Univ.-Prof. Dr.. Bea VERSCHRAEGEN, LL.M. M.E.M.


Dates

Time

Place

Monday, 14.10.2019

16.00 - 18.00

SEM 51
Monday, 21.20.201916.00 - 18.00SEM 51
Monday, 28.10.201916.00 - 18.00SEM 51
Monday, 04.11.201916.00 - 18.00SEM 51
Monday, 11.11.201916.00 - 18.00SEM 51
Monday, 25.11.201916.00 - 18.00SEM 51
Monday, 02.12.201916.00 - 19.00SEM 51
Monday, 09.12.201916.00 - 18.00U 13
Monday, 16.12.201916.00 - 18.00SEM 51
Monday, 13.01.202016.00 - 18.00SEM 51
Monday, 20.01.202016.00 - 19.00SEM 51

Registration via U:SPACE

Registration from MO, 2.9.2019 to MO, 7.10.2019

Deregistration until FR, 18.10.2019


Aims, contents and method of the course

This course aims at providing students with the basic knowledge of the Rome I-Regulation. Good knowledge of domestic contract law is required. The course is taught in English and open to students with good knowledge of English.

At the end of the course, each student ought to be able to solve an easy cross-border contract case.


Assessment and permitted materials

Regular presence, thorough preparation and active participation in class account for 25 %, the mandatory written exam for 75 %.


Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Students must attend the course regularly. Two absences at the most will be accepted.

Students who do not attend the first session and are unexcused will be deregistered automatically.

Type of materials allowed for the exam: Print-out versions of the Rome I-Regulation, including case law discussed during the lectures. Please note that you are not allowed to write any comments or annotations into the printed-out documents.

The main exam will take place on 16 December 2019. The attendance for the main exam is compulsory.

The re-take exam will take place on 20 January 2020.


Examination topics

 The compulsory exam will consist of 2 theoretical questions (25 %) relating to the Rome I-Regulation and a cross-border contract case (50 %). In order to pass the exam, the questions must be answered and the case be solved.